Principal
Greenberg Consultants Inc.

Ken Greenberg is an urban designer, teacher, writer, former Director of Urban Design and Architecture for the City of Toronto and Principal of Greenberg Consultants. For over four decades he has played a pivotal role on public and private assignments in urban settings throughout North America and Europe, focusing on the rejuvenation of downtowns, waterfronts, neighborhoods and on campus master planning, regional growth management, and new community planning. Cities as diverse as Toronto, Hartford, Amsterdam, New York, Boston, Montréal, Ottawa, Edmonton, Calgary, St. Louis, Washington DC, Paris, Detroit, Saint Paul and San Juan Puerto Rico have benefited from his advocacy and passion for restoring the vitality, relevance and sustainability of the public realm in urban life. In each city, with each project, his strategic, consensus-building approach has led to coordinated planning and a renewed focus on urban design. He is the recipient of the 2010 American Institute of Architects Thomas Jefferson Award for Public Design Excellence and the 2014 Sustainable Buildings Canada Lifetime Achievement Award. Involved in many grass roots and community initiatives he has served as a Board Member of Park People, a non-profit dedicated to the improvement of Toronto’s parks, is currently on the Advisory Board of Waterfront for All and President of the Wellington Place Neighbourhood Association. He is a co-founder and Vice Chair of the new City Building Institute at Ryerson University in Toronto. A frequent writer for periodicals, he is the author of Walking Home: the Life and Lessons of a City Builder published by Random House. He played a leading role as urban design lead and client representative for The Bentway, the transformation of a major public space under the Gardiner Expressway in Toronto and is currently serving as an advisor to Sidewalk Labs for Quayside on the Toronto waterfront.

Speaking at the Following:

Jun 5

Friday, June 5, 2020

Edge City Density: Building Up the TOD Urban Region

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM EDT
Live Online

11:00 AM EDT / 4:00 PM BST / 5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 PM HKT Explosive growth in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) has been deliberately contained geographically within an ecological greenbelt. To accommodate the more…

Jun 10

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Unlocking the Power of Parks: How New Approaches Are Creating Vibrant Parks and Open Spaces

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM EDT
Live Online

11:00 AM EDT / 4:00 PM BST / 5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 PM HKT Successful parks require innovations like creative approaches to partnerships and new thinking about existing places, including outmoded infrastructure such as abandoned…